Community Team

Last updated: August 2023

Welcome to Health Union's Community Team. Our Community Team is made up of a diverse group of employees of Health Union who bring you engaging, accurate information about living with inflammatory bowel disease. The Community Team partners with the Editorial Team to provide clinical content that helps people live better with their condition. Meet your team below.

The Team

Colleen Heavens

Prior to joining the Health Union team, Colleen worked in marketing at an accounting and consulting firm, with prior experience in higher education and publishing. She holds a master’s degree in communications and urban studies from the University of Pennsylvania, and a bachelor’s degree in journalism and Spanish from the University of Pittsburgh. Colleen has a passion for mental health awareness and is on the Board of Directors for NAMI Philadelphia (National Alliance on Mental Illness). She is equally passionate about the connection between mental and physical health, the accessibility of healthcare and its systems, and the power of connected communities.

Jessica Lipkin

Jess holds a master's of public health degree from Drexel University and a bachelor's in psychology and criminal justice from the University of Delaware. Before joining HU, she spent 6 years doing substance use research at PHMC. Jess is also the cofounder and president of PA DanceSafe, a nonprofit organization that promotes health and safety in the nightlife community. She is passionate about harm reduction and is an advocate for evidence-based drug policy and education. She lives in Philadelphia with her partner and 2 cats, and loves going to music festivals and concerts.

Meet our Community Health Leaders
Meet our Editorial Team
Meet our Medical Review Board

Community Team

Kate Abernethy
Amrita Bhowmick
Joanna Bodner
Michael Boren
Mark Butler
Minel Cannucciari
Anthony Carrone
Julie Croner
Patty Day
Rachel DiStefano
Allison Echols
Kelsey Ford
Gabby Formica
Jaclyn Gallagher
Bridget Gawinowicz
Courtney Getty
Jacqueline Gottlob
Liz Green
Chris Hall
Reggie Hall
Crystal Harper
Matt Harrison
Sara Hayes
Kayleigh Hill
Kailah Holmes
Audrey Innerst
Ilana Jacqueline
Pam Jajko
Amanda Jones
Laura Kompanik
Kyler Koons
Danielle Kraft
Emily Lux
Kelly McNamara
Sanjana Mehrotra
Kelly Miller
Pamela Munnelly
Rackel Nderi
Megan Norton
Torie Pappas
Corene Pettit
Ashley Plaster
Amna Rizvi
Carolyn Rotella
Misty Roussa
Lauren Ruffalo
Sam Sarube
Abby Schmidt
Kathy Smyser
Kaitlyn Sutton
Samuel Taylor
Margot Tishberg
Alexa Vecchione
Sarah Wallin
Kristine Zerkowski
Brian Zimorowicz

Community Experience Coordinators

Melissa Arnold
Chelley Avicolli
Jill Brodie
Kimberly Broughal
Julie Byers
Allyson Ellis
Richard Faust
Donna Flood-Amaya
Lori Duffy Foster
Jessica Hall
Doreen Hribar
Beth Huffman
Latoya Juniel
Aron Korashan
Christine Laaksonen
Cody Leach
Jake Maxwell
Katherine Moakes
Lauren Mullin
Debra Philip
Erin Rush
Erin Tirney

By providing your email address, you are agreeing to our privacy policy.